Florida State University Honors 37 COSSPP Student Leaders through Torchbearer 100 Program

The Division of Student Affairs at Florida State University proudly honored the 2024 inductee class for the Torchbearer 100 program during a celebration on April 15 at the FSU Student Union. Of the entire inductee class, 37 COSSPP students were among them. The Torchbearer 100 program is a longstanding tradition which recognizes a diverse group of 100 undergraduate students who have shown exceptional leadership and achievement during their collegiate careers.

Distinguished Economics and Demography Professor Retires After 34 Years of Service

Distinguished Economics Professor Carl P. Schmertmann, Ph.D., will retire after the Spring 2024 semester following over 34 years of service at Florida State University.  

Dr. Schmertmann has held the title of William J. Serow Professor of Economics since 1999. This Endowed Professorship honors William J. Serow, Ph.D., a Professor of Economics at Florida State University from 1981 until his untimely death in 2003; he served as the CDPH’s Director from 1990 to 2003 and dedicated an important part of his professional life to the preparation of students for careers in applied demography.