Skip to main content
Skip to main content

Department of Sociology

College of Social Sciences and Public Policy

Get More Than A Degree Applied Masters Degree Pursue PhD in Sociology

Connect with the College

Calendar

Important dates for Fall 2018, plus Leon County School District (LCSD) key dates.

Date Event Start End Location
Monday, August 13, 2018 LCSD classes begin --- --- ---
Mon-Tues, August 20-21, 2018 New faculty orientation 8:30am 4pm Turnbull
Friday, August 24, 2018 New grad student orientation 10am 12:15pm BEL 519
Monday, August 27, 2018 FSU fall semester begins --- --- ---
Monday, September 3, 2018 Labor Day holiday --- --- ---
Friday, September 7, 2018 Sociology preliminary exams 8:15am 4:30pm FSU Testing Center
Wednesday, September 12, 2018 Faculy Senate 3:35pm 5pm Dodd Hall Auditorium
Wednesday, September 19, 2018 LCSD Fall holiday --- --- ---
Friday, October 12, 2018 LCSD teacher in-service day
--- --- ---
Wednesday, October 17, 2018 Faculty Senate 3:35pm 5pm Dodd Hall Auditorium
Thurs-Fri, October 10-12, 2018 Southern Demographic Assoc meeting Durham, NC
Saturday, November 10, 2018 Veterans Day holiday --- --- ---
Wednesday, November 14, 2018 Faculty Senate 3:35pm 5pm Dodd Hall Auditorium
Wed-Sun, November 14-18, 2018 Gerontological Society meeting Boston, MA
Mon-Tues, November 19-20, 2018 LSCD off --- --- ---
Wed-Fri, November 21-23, 2018 Thanksgiving holiday --- --- ---
Wednesday, December 5, 2018 Faculty Senate 3:35pm 5pm Dodd Hall Auditorium
Friday, December 7, 2018 Last day of classes
Saturday, December 15, 2018 Commencement 9am 11am Civic Center
Monday, December 24, 2018 Start of FSU & LCSD winter break --- --- ---
Monday, January 7, 2019 FSU spring semester begins --- --- ---
Tuesday, January 8, 2019 LCSD classes resume --- --- ---