Skip to main content
Skip to main content

Connect with the College

College Welcomes New Faculty for 2018-2019

August 28, 2018

The College of Social Sciences and Public Policy (COSSPP) is excited to announce a slate of new faculty in almost every program for the 2018-2019 academic year.

"It is exciting to see this deep investment in the college, as our programs are invigorated by these new scholars with expertise in their fields, important research agendas, and teaching excellence," said COSSPP Dean Tim Chapin. "We're thrilled to welcome these new faculty members and I look forward to seeing them advance the college’s research, teaching, and service missions."

In addition to new faculty in Economics, Geography, Interdisciplinary Social Sciences, Public Administration, Sociology, and Urban and Regional Planning (some of whom will be associated with other interdisciplinary programs, centers, and institutes within the college), three new chairs have been appointed to head up their departments this year: Manoj Atolia (Economics), Carl Schmertmann (Demography), and Kathryn Tillman (Sociology).

Here are the new faculty for the coming year, as profiled in a publication of new hires university-wide). Not pictured: Sage Ponder (Geography); Hans Hassell, Brad Kile, and Carlisle Rainey (Political Science), and Portia Campos (Public Administration)