Skip to main content
Skip to main content

Connect with the College

Students, Staff Honored in Annual Awards

April 12, 2018

Spring has come to FSU and that means...awards season!

Various units and administrative branches of the university gave out their annual awards over the last month, and the following students and staff of the college were well represented among those honored for their achievements.

Samantha Kunin (International Affairs) - the college's honoree at the President's Undergraduate Humanitarian of the Year awards luncheon, March 21. She is a junior from Lakeland who has served as an interpreter/legal assistant working with detained asylum seekers. She works to coordinate their narratives about why they fled their countries through the Southern Poverty Law Center – Southeastern Immigration Freedom Initiative/CARA Pro Bono Project. She also co-founded the Migrant and Refugee Education Alliance student organization where she coordinates tutoring partnerships between college students and refugees in local schools.

William Vince Dewar and Lillie Sullivan (International Affairs) - Global Citizen Award for students who have been actively engaged in intercultural initiatives and/or who have exemplified leadership in promoting and supporting a global community among Florida State University students over the past year

Jack Shenton (Political Science) and Erika Rivera (International Affairs) - Outstanding Student Leader Award for their involvement with various student activities

Thomas Rohrlack (International Affairs) - Union Board Member of the Year Award

Giuliana Truppi (Sociology) and Shaun Gabrielli (International Affairs) - Student Seminole Award for special contributions to the University in the areas of leadership and service

Andrew Melville (International Affairs) - Sean A. Pittman Award for outstanding leadership and dedication to the study body, university, and community with significant contributions to the welfare and support of African-American students

Taylor Zuccarello (Political Science) - Academic Leadership Award presented to one student in each academic college, based on academic performance, university service and other contributions both in and out of the classroom

Elizabeth Kistner (Academic Program Specialist in the Department of Economics) - Undergraduate Advising Award

Congratulations to all these outstanding FSU citizens! You do our college proud.

Samantha Kunin receiving her Humanitarian of the
Year Award from FSU President John Thrasher