Florida State University

College of Social Sciences & Public Policy

For the latest information related to COVID-19, visit fsu.edu/coronavirus

Two Political Science Faculty Named Distinguished Professors

Two professors in the Florida State University Department of Political Science have been named as the inaugural recipients of distinguished professorships.

Will H. Moore has been named the Alumni Distinguished Professor of Political Science. Moore’s research focuses primarily on violent political conflict, dissent and repression, forced migration, and related areas of interest. In 2013, he began collaborating with Amnesty International on the Citizen Media Evidence Partnership to authenticate evidence of human rights abuses. He teaches courses in political violence and international human rights, among others. Moore joined the department in 1997 and in 2002 received the university’s Developing Scholar Award.

Dale L. Smith has been named the Paul Piccard Professor of Political Science, named for the late professor, who taught in the department from 1953 until his retirement in 1993. Smith’s principal research and teaching interests are in the areas of international/comparative political economy, regional integration, and the European Union. He has been with the department since 1988, served as chair of from 1999 to 2014, and is a faculty affiliate of the William A. Kerr Intercultural Education and Dialogue Initiative. He also leads a six-week study-abroad program in Istanbul every summer.

“We’re proud of the fine achievements of these two professors and happy to recognize their outstanding contributions to the university,” noted David W. Rasmussen, dean of the College of Social Sciences and Public Policy. “We’re grateful for the alumni who make these awards possible with their generous gifts to the college and particularly thank the family and friends of Paul Piccard for their support.”