Florida State University

College of Social Sciences & Public Policy

For the latest information related to COVID-19, visit fsu.edu/coronavirus

Students inducted into Garnet & Gold Society in virtual ceremony

Thirty-two undergraduates from the College of Social Sciences and Public Policy were among the 236 students inducted into university’s prestigious Garnet & Gold Scholar Society for spring semester 2021.  

Established in 2010, the Garnet & Gold Scholar Society facilitates student involvement and recognizes undergraduate students who excel within and beyond the classroom in at least three of five areas: international experience, internship, leadership, research and service.

The induction ceremony was held virtually this spring due to COVID-19. 

“We are proud to welcome this new group of inductees to the Garnet & Gold Scholar Society,” said Amy Hecht, vice president for Student Affairs. “They are a wonderful representation of the university, and we are pleased to give them recognition for their involvement bettering the campus and community.”

To become an inductee of the Garnet & Gold Scholar Society, students must meet the engagement criteria and submit a synthesis reflection project in their final semester before graduation. Participants are recognized during graduation and receive a designation on their official university transcript, both of which make the students more marketable to potential employers or graduate programs.

“As Garnet and Gold Scholars, your achievement speaks to your desire to make the most of your Florida State education and reflects well on the values of this university,” said President John Thrasher. “You have set a shining example for your fellow students and for all those who will follow in your footsteps. I am so proud of you.”

The 32 COSSPP students inducted into the Garnet & Gold Scholar Society during a special virtual ceremony Thursday, April 22, are:

Corey Adamyk, Political Science
Nina Allowe, Political Science 
Ranya Ayoub, International Affairs 
Leila Basili, Political Science
Valentina Beron, Political Science
Emma Beyar, International Affairs
Allison Bloomer, Political Science
Simone Burgin, International Affairs 
Makenna Campbell-Hutts, Political Science 
Brooke Cleary, Political Science
Elizabeth Corn, Political Science 
Beatrice Dain, International Affairs
Maryn Douglass, International Affairs
Jonathan Farhat, Political Science 
Giovanna Garcia, International Affairs 
Taylor Hatjioannou, Political Science  
Nick Hearing, International Affairs 
Carson Hopkins, Political Science
Anna Lewis, International Affairs 
Cyanne John Mcclean, Interdisciplinary Social Science 
Molly McQueeney, Economics
Ellé Newton, Political Science 
Chaston Pfingston, Political Science
Ella Porter, International Affairs 
Robin Rodriguez, International Affairs 
Guerothlyn Saint-Jean, Public Health
Mila Talev, International Affairs
Ana Villamizar, Environment & Society
Christina Alayna Williams, Political Science
Kayla Wood, Political Science
Emiah Youman, Political Science 
Kaleigh Young, Political Science