Florida State University

College of Social Sciences & Public Policy

For the latest information related to COVID-19, visit fsu.edu/coronavirus

Students Honored for Outstanding Achievements

We’re very proud of our outstanding undergraduate and graduate students here at the college, and it’s gratifying to see that they are recognized beyond the walls of the Bellamy Building!

At the university’s annual Leadership Awards Night, April 5, the following students were honored by the Division of Student Affairs:

Nikki Bhavsar (Political Science), Daniela Donoso (International Affairs), Andrew Gallagher (Interdisciplinary Social Science): Student Seminole Awards for special contributions to the university in leadership and service

Alexandra Cabrera (Political Science): Outstanding Student Leader of the Year for exceeding expectations in student activities

Allison Maldonado-Ruiz (Sociology) and Jesse Smith-Appleson (Sociology):The Dean’s Cup for a strong sense of commitment to the Seminole Creed

Cecily Matthews (Interdisciplinary Social Science): Sean A. Pittman Award for outstanding leadership and dedication to the student body, university, and community with significant contributions to the welfare and support of African-American students

Erika Rivera (International Affairs): Instant Impact Student Leader of the Year recognizing one up-and-coming leader who has helped create a personal FSU experience through student activities

Tessa Shurr (Political Science): Inter-Residence Hall Council President of the Year Award

Jesse Smith-Appleson (Sociology): Global Citizen Award for students who have been actively engaged in intercultural initiatives and demonstrated leadership in promoting a global community

The university holds its Celebration of Graduate Student Excellence every year to recognize achievements in teaching, research, and scholarship. These graduate students from the college were spotlighted for the the honors they received this academic year:

Frank Annie (Geography): Three-Minute Thesis Second Place

Natalie Bonus (Public Health), Spence Purnell (Public Administration), Rachel Smith (Public Administration): Florida Gubernatorial Fellowship

Stephanie Bradley (Sociology): John F. Liseno Program for Instructional Excellence Graduate Award

Stephanie Bradley (Sociology), Brandon Brice (Economics), Blair Thomas (Public Administration): Program for Instructional Excellence Teaching Associates

Kayla Costello and Donald Morgan (both Urban and Regional Planning): U.S. Department of Transportation Eisenhower Graduate Fellowship

Pierce Dignam (Sociology): McKnight Doctoral Fellowship

Lacey Ritter (Sociology): Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award