Florida State University

College of Social Sciences & Public Policy

For the latest information related to COVID-19, visit fsu.edu/coronavirus

Political Science Faculty Papers Awarded

Papers written by faculty in the college’s Department of Political Science have won awards for “significant contributions” to their fields.

Assistant Professor Hans Hassell, along with co-author John Holbein of Brigham Young University, won the Beryl A. Radin Best Article Award for 2019 for their paper “When Your Group Fails: The Effect of Race-Based Performance Signals on Citizen Voice and Exit.” The award is presented by the Public Management Research Association (PMRA) for the best work published in the Journal of Public Administration Research and Theory in 2019.

The selection committee, which included Professor Frances Berry of the Askew School, unanimously selected the paper because of “its novel and significant contribution our understanding of the use of performance information by citizens.”

“Through sophisticated analyses of a unique data set containing administrative data from schools and more than 7 million voter records, the authors demonstrate that white and black citizens respond differently to race-based performance information from schools, which ultimately changes not only the racial make-up of schools, but also the composition of local elections,” the committee noted.

Because PMRA’s 2020 conference has been postponed until 2021, an announcement will be made in the organization’s publication Management Matters this month. The group hopes to hold an official award-giving event at its 2021 meeting.

The PMRA is a nonprofit academic membership association that furthers research on public organizations.

The American Political Science Association (APSA) Section on Public Administration has selected a paper co-authored by Associate Professor Christopher Reenock for its annual Herbert Kaufman Best Paper award.

The paper, “Chain of Command vs. Who’s in Command: Structure, Politics and Regulatory Outputs,” was co-authored by Matt Uttermark, a recent political science Ph.D. graduate, and Professor David Konisky of Indiana University. The APSA section committee said the paper “stands out for its contribution to the field of public administration—both in theory and practice” and for its insight into “how policymakers might obtain policy gains with administrative structure.”

Founded in 1903, the APSA is the leading professional organization for the study of political science and serves more than 11,000 members in more than 100 countries. With a range of programs and services for individuals, departments and institutions, APSA brings together political scientists from all fields of inquiry, regions, and occupational endeavors within and outside academe to deepen the understanding of politics, democracy and citizenship throughout the world.