Florida State University

College of Social Sciences & Public Policy

For the latest information related to COVID-19, visit fsu.edu/coronavirus

Grad Students, Faculty Recognized For Excellence

It’s that time of year late in every spring semester when Florida State University honors the achievements of students, faculty and staff.

The college has already recognized our undergraduates who have been honored on Leadership Awards Night, April 9, and at the annual President’s Humanitarian Luncheon on March 26.

Now it’s time for grad students and faculty to take a bow.

The FSU Graduate School has announced the graduate students and faculty members who have been recognized for their excellence in teaching, research, mentoring and scholarship, as well as the grad students who have received external funding for their outstanding contributions.

The following individuals will be formally honored at the Celebration of Graduate Student Excellence on Thursday, April 18, at 3:00 PM in the FSU Alumni Center Ballroom (1030 W. Tennessee St.).

Program for Instructional Excellence (PIE) Teaching Associates:
John Bandzuh (Geography)
Jeffrey Conley (Economics)
Benjamin Dowd-Arrow (Sociology)

Graduate Faculty Mentor Awards:
Associate Professor Carl Kitchens (Economics)
Professor James Elsner (Geography)

Levon Mikaelian (Geography) – Federal Highway Administration Dwight D. Eisenhower Transportation Fellowship
Stephanie Urena Salas (Sociology) – National Institutes of Health/National Institute on Aging Dissertation Award for Aging Research
Kirsten D’Souza (Political Science) – Florida House of Representatives Legislative Internship
Metin Guven (Sociology) – Turkish Government Scholarship
Juan David Irigoyen Borunda (Political Science) – Mexico Department of Education Complementary Scholarship for Graduate Studies
Kapria Lee (Public Administration/Social Work) – Florida Gubernatorial Fellowship
Efraim Roxas (Geography) – Fulbright Foreign Student Program
Joshua Scriven (Political Science) – Fulbright Study/Research Grant
Peter Tristan Singhal (Political Science) – Florida Gubernatorial Fellowship
Nicole Zampieri (Geography) – Society of Woman Geographer’s Evelyn L. Pruitt National Minority Fellowship

Social Entrepreneur-in-Residence Bruce Manciagli and Assistant Professor of Sociology Miranda Waggoner have received University Teaching Awards in recognition of their excellence in undergraduate and graduate teaching. Nominations are submitted each year by students and alumni.

Assistant Professor of Sociology Shantel Buggs, who is also affiliated faculty with the African American Studies program, won Faculty of the Year from FSU’s Pride Student Union and also received the Sociologists for Women in Society Natalie Allon Research Award to support her project on women of color and nonbinary people of color on the academic job market.