Florida State University

College of Social Sciences & Public Policy

For the latest information related to COVID-19, visit fsu.edu/coronavirus

Garnet & Gold Scholar Society Inductees 2019-2020

William Lineberry, FSU Career Center, contributed to this report

Florida State University welcomed 17 new inductees into its prestigious Garnet & Gold Scholar Society this summer. Three of the inductees have at least one major in the College of Social Sciences and Public Policy.

These new inductions bring the number of COSSPP students in the society to 64 of the total 392 inductees for the 2019-2020 academic year.

“I’m very proud – but not surprised – to note that once again our undergraduates have distinguished themselves through scholarship, leadership and service,” said Dean Tim Chapin. “Our students are some of the most engaged and accomplished on campus.”

Established in 2010, the Garnet & Gold Scholar Society facilitates student involvement and recognizes undergraduate students who excel within and beyond the classroom in at least three of five areas: international experience, internship, leadership, research and service. To become an inductee, students must meet the engagement criteria and submit a synthesis reflection project in their final semester before graduation. Participants are recognized during graduation and receive a designation on their official university transcript, both of which make the students more marketable to potential employers or graduate programs.

The induction ceremony was held virtually this summer due to COVID-19.

“As Garnet and Gold Scholars, your achievement speaks to your desire to make the most of your Florida State education and reflects well on the values of this university,” said President John Thrasher. “You have set a shining example for your fellow students and for all those who will follow in your footsteps. I am so proud of you.”

COSSPP Majors inducted into the Garnet & Gold Scholar Society

Tatiana Ahlbum, Sociology (SOC)
Bridget Nievinski, International Affairs (IA), French
Nicholas Ordieres, Business Management, Political Science (PS)

Alexander Adams, PS
Karina Amalbert, Interdisciplinary Social Science (ISS)
Jett Angel, ISS
Vanessa Arnel Baptista, IA
Jessica Bissey, Economics (ECON)
Holden Bradley, IA
Siobhan Brennan, PS
Shayna Cohen, ECON
Elizabeth Dash, PS
Paige Duskie, IA
Miguel Ferrer, PS
Maria Flores, PS
Ally Frith, IA
Paris Gilstrap, IA
Jonathan Greenstein, ECON
Maia Hass, IA
Sydney Houde, IA
Leah Huff, IA
Julianne Kelly, PS
Erin King, IA
Jessica King, ISS
Mirdens Lambert, Environment & Society (ES)
Stephanie Lee, IA
Dana Leger, IA
Paige Levanti, IA
Jalicia Lewis, PS
Jaime Lopez, IA
Logan Love, ISS
Bryan Maroto, PS
Manuela Martinez, IA
Sabrina Mato, IA
Grace Michaels, IA and Russian
Willow Michie, ES
Selina Nevin, IA
Kaitlin Price, PS
Gaia Rebak, IA
Taylor Rich, PS
Rachel Robutti, PS
Marquita Rusley, ES
Sameera Shaik, ISS
Caleb Stephens, ECON
Andrew Taylor, SOC
Taylor Weathers, ECON
Shane Whitney, ECON
Natalie Wilson, IA
Ariel Ynovy, ISS

FALL 2019
Isabelle Ball, IA
Karoline Barkley, IA
Ayanna Camara, PS and History
Sofia Camara, IA
Caroline Dumoulin, IA and History
Darcy Farwell, IA
Emily Goodman, IA
Taylor Hainley, IA
Katie Hecht, IA
Sephora Jolicoeur, ISS, ECON, SOC
Anna Grace Lewis, PS
Samantha Motyl, ISS and Psychology
Samantha Sanchez, PS and Psychology
Rhianna Vaughn, IA
Daniela Villasmil, ISS