Florida State University

College of Social Sciences & Public Policy

For the latest information related to COVID-19, visit fsu.edu/coronavirus

FSU to recognize alums in virtual awards gala

Jean Accius, B. Dan Berger

by Kelli Gemmer, FSU Alumni Association, and COSSPP communications staff

The Florida State University Alumni Association will recognize six members of the FSU family during the second annual Alumni Awards Gala, presented virtually Friday, Nov. 13.

Two of the honored alumni are graduates of the College of Social Sciences and Public Policy. They will receive the Circle of Gold Award, which is presented to individuals who, through their service and achievements, personify the university’s tradition of excellence: 

Jean Accius (M.S. ’03 Aging Studies) 
Jean Accius is a two-time alumnus who was involved in many student organizations including the Student Government Association, the Iota Delta Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity and the Black Student Union, where he served as president from 2000-2001. He also served as a CARE counselor and was elected Homecoming Chief in 2001. Accius, who resides in Washington, D.C., continues to stay connected to the university; he has served on the FSU Alumni Association National Board of Directors and is a mentor to current students. 

B. Dan Berger (B.S. ’89 Economics) 
B. Dan Berger earned his bachelor’s degree in economics from FSU and master’s degree in public administration from Harvard University. After graduation, he pursued a career as a lobbyist and has been named one of the most influential lobbyists by The Hill newspaper for the past 14 years. His dedication to his professional career has not stopped him from giving back to his alma mater over the years. Berger, who resides in Washington, D.C., is a lifetime member of the Alumni Association, Seminole Boosters member and current chairman of the FSU Alumni Association National Board of Directors.

“While we can’t celebrate in the traditional sense during Homecoming Week, we still want to honor these six graduates for their professional accomplishments and service to their communities, including Florida State,” said Julie Decker, president and CEO of the FSU Alumni Association. “We invite you to join us in celebrating these exceptional alumni from wherever you are, as they are truly deserving of our support and congratulations.”

This year’s Alumni Awards Gala will be a fully virtual event streamed remotely at 7 p.m. EDT, Friday, Nov. 13. Access links are $5 for students, $10 for Alumni Association members and $15 for nonmembers. The event’s presenting sponsor is the National Association of Federally-Insured Credit Unions.

Other honorees include Freddie Groomes-McLendon, who will be presented with the Bernard F. Sliger Award, the single highest honor given by the FSU Alumni Association.

The other Circle of Gold honors are Christopher Iansiti (College of Business, Education), Bill Montford (College of Education) and former Dean of Undergraduate Studies at FSU Karen Laughlin, who is being awarded posthumously.

“I’m looking forward to recognizing several outstanding alumni who exemplify Florida State’s tradition of excellence,” said FSU President John Thrasher (B.S. ’65, J.D. ’72). “We are proud of their achievements, and their success reflects well on this university. Time and time again, they have demonstrated their dedication and loyalty to FSU, and we could not be more grateful.”

For more information on the Alumni Awards Gala, visit alumni.fsu.edu/gala.