Skip to main content
Skip to main content

Connect with the College

Applied Economics Students Present Final Projects, Win Awards

Students in the master's program in applied economics presented their final projects at the annual symposium, July 29, 2015, at FSU's Turnbull Center, with faculty, college administration, and industry leaders present.

These capstone projects give students experience in performing practical economic research from start to finish, as commonly found in consulting projects or government agency reports. Additionally, students gain practical experience attending and preparing for regular meetings with senior partners, presenting formal presentations, and writing a final report.

The projects presented at this year's symposium were:
- Converting Florida State to Stack LED lighting
- An Innovation Strategy for Palm Beach County
- Making Tallahassee the Next Fiber Optic Gigabit City
- Implementing MobileDock at PortMiami and Port Everglades

The Michael Norrbin Outstanding Project Award went to Ian Fitton, Margaret Mohlenhoff, Katherine Ruane, and Alex Korpanty for investigating and analyzing the cost savings that Florida State University would accrue from converting all lights to “smart” LED lights manufactured by the Stack Lighting company.

The Josh Mikels-Stan Shaffer Award for Outstanding Student was presented to Mia Goodnature. Spencer Wilkins also won this award but was not at the symposium because he completed a thesis rather than a project.

Among those attending the symposium were officials from the State of Florida, City of Tallahassee, Economic Council of Palm Beach County, and Florida Chamber of Commerce; and representatives from CSX Transportation, Charles Rivers Associates, and Sun Trust Bank, among others.

The program acknowledges the Holcomb family for its generous financial support of in honor of Ralph Kaul, Julie Harrington at the Center for Economic Forecasting and Analysis and Regional Economic Models, Inc. for the use of the Florida version of the REMI econometric software, and Dean David Rasmussen for his continued support of the program.

Congratulations to all these exceptional students and the best of luck to them in their new careers!