Florida State University

College of Social Sciences & Public Policy

For the latest information related to COVID-19, visit fsu.edu/coronavirus

Alums Honored For Achievements

Each year, Florida State University honors its most successful alumni with various awards and recognitions. We are proud to note the outstanding College of Social Sciences and Public Policy alumni who have received these honors for 2018-2019.

The FSU Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa National Leadership Honor Society chooses three Grads Made Good nominees to be recognized at the Homecoming Breakfast every year. The ceremony is put together by the National Collegiate Leadership Honor Society, Omicron Delta Kappa and the FSU Alumni Association.

Nancy McKay (BS ’78 Political Science) – President and CEO of NEST Fragrances
Gene Stearns (B.A. ’66 Political Science) – Founder and board chair of the Tallahassee law firm Stearns Weaver Miller, et al.

Valerie Laboy (BS ’04 International Affairs) – Foreign Service Officer, U.S. Department of State
Divam Mehta (BS ’05 Economics) – President, Mehta Financial Group, LLC
Janel Robinson (BS ’14 Sociology) – Program Coordinator, Center for Interpersonal Violence Intervention and Prevention, Florida A&M University

The Jim Moran Institute for Global Entrepreneurship at Florida State University’s College of Business, in partnership with the FSU Alumni Association and Ernst & Young, recognizes the fastest-growing U.S. businesses owned by Florida State alumni, who are responsible for some of the most innovative and profitable companies in America.

Autumn Blackledge (B.S. ’98 Political Science), Autumn Beck Blackledge PLLC (Pensacola, FL)
Jeffery Collins (B.S. ’86 Political Science), Global Sales (Gibsonton, FL)
Mark Cross (B.S. ’79 Political Science), Tasty Pastry Bakery (Tallahassee, FL)
Bugra Demirel (B.A. ’10 International Affairs/Political Science), Demirel International (Marianna, FL)
Juan Diaz (B.A. ’98 Economics/International Affairs), Providence Technology Solutions, LLC (Jacksonville, FL)
Jennifer Green (B.S. ’94 Political Science), Liberty Partners (Tallahassee, FL)
John D. McFarlain (B.S. ’97 Political Science), Tal Research Group (Tallahassee, FL)
Patrick McKee (B.S. ’00 Economics), McKee Insurance Agency (Tallahassee, FL)
Christopher Mueller (B.A. ’01 International Affairs) Taylor, Day, Grimm & Boyd (Jacksonville, FL)
Bennet Napier (M.S. ’02, Applied American Politics), Partners in Association Management (Tallahassee, FL)
Stuart Norman (B.S. ’97 Political Science), G.M.F. Industries, Inc. (Lakeland, FL)
Jonathan Novak (B.S. ’10 Political Science/International Affairs), Boomerang Transportation (Tampa, FL)
Joy Owenby (B.S. ’93 Political Science), Owenby Law (Jacksonville, FL)
Bobby Pittman (B.S. ’97 Economics, M.A. ’06 Economics), Kupanda Capital (Washington, DC)
Neil Rambana (B.A. ’92 English/Political Science, M.A. ’96 International Affairs), Rambana & Ricci PLLC (Tallahassee, FL)
Chris Smith (B.S. ’07 Economics), Curaytor (Orlando, FL)

Click on active links by individual names for more about those honorees. You can see the list of all COSSPP alums honored over the years at this link.