Florida State University

College of Social Sciences & Public Policy

For the latest information related to COVID-19, visit fsu.edu/coronavirus

18 Named to 2016 Social Science Scholars Cohort

After a rigorous interview and selection process, 18 outstanding juniors have been named to the 2016 cohort of the college’s Social Science Scholars program.

Those selected will participate in a leadership seminar in spring semester of this academic year, preparing them for research or service projects to bee undertaken during in the summer and/or fall of 2016. Each Social Science Scholar receives a grant of up to $5,000 for approved travel and other expenses related to the planned project, either in the U.S. or overseas. During their senior year, these scholars will report on their leadership projects, attend seminars and symposia, and work with mentors to prepare for graduate school or other postgraduate opportunities.

The 18 students chosen for the program this year (and their majors) are:

David Butter – Sociology/Political Science
Holly Cramer – International Affairs/Political Science
Jesus Alberto de los Rios – Environmental Studies/Geology
Celli Horstman – Political Science
Bianca Jyotishi – International Affairs
Andrew McMillan – Mathematics/Economics
Isabella Moreira – Political Science/Literature
Ryan Nicholas – Economics
Ljubica Nikolic – International Affairs/Political Science
Devlin Peck – International Affairs
Kathryn Pentz – International Affairs/Russian-East European Studies
Thuy-Linh Pham – Anthropology/Environmental Studies
Inam Sakinah – Biology/Interdisciplinary Social Science
Carla Saskia Sanchez – Political Science
Katelyn Schulze – Political Science/Public Relations
Crystal Serrano – International Affairs/Political Science
McCayla Sica – Political Science/Economics
Edward Town – Political Science/Economics