Skip to main content
Skip to main content

Connect with the College

College News

COSSPP Students Inducted into Garnet & Gold Society

The college has always been well represented by our outstanding students in the Garnet and Gold Scholastic Honor Society, and this year is no exception.

Twenty-two COSSPP students were among the 144 inducted into the society, April 27, 2015:

Florida Blue CEO Honored by MPH Program

Florida State University’s Master of Public Health (MPH) Program is honoring Pat Geraghty, chairman and CEO of Florida Blue, the state’s Blue Cross and Blue Shield plan and a leader in Florida’s health care industry.

College Scores Big in University Leadership Awards

Congratulations to students from our college who won Leadership Awards at the annual ceremony on April 14, 2015:

- Bob E. Leach Award (exemplary leadership and service to the university): Daniel Hubbard (Sociology/Psychology)

- Academic Leadership Award (academic performance, university service, and contributions in and out of classroom): Alexandra Olsen (Sociology/French; International Affairs minor)

- Inter-Residence Hall Government President of the Year: Sydney Ollar (IA/English)

Acclaimed Scholar Named Distinguished Professor in Economics

Shawn Kantor, a prize-winning author and former head of the Department of Economics at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, has joined the faculty of Florida State University as the L. Charles Hilton Jr. Distinguished Professor of Economic Prosperity and Individual Opportunity.

Sociology Student Named 2015 Truman Scholar

A Florida State University psychology and sociology major studying the causes of suicide, particularly in the military community, has been named a 2015 Truman Scholar, a prestigious national award given to college juniors who seek to improve their communities through public service.

Daniel Hubbard, 27, a junior from Tallahassee who spent five years as an Army medic before enrolling at Florida State, is among this year's class of 58 Truman Scholars and the only one from Florida. He was selected from a pool of 688 candidates nominated by 297 colleges and universities.

Grad Students Recognized for Achievements

A number of graduate students from the College of Social Sciences and Public Policy were recognized for their achievements at the 2015 Celebration of Graduate Student Excellence, April 8, 2015,

Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award - Kimberly Wiley (Public Administration), Keith Richard (Sociology)

Graduate Student Leadership Award - Holly Widen (Geography)

Preparing Future Faculty/Preparing Future Professionals Fellows - James Gaboardi (Geography), Justine Gunderson (Sociology)

Planning Professor Edits Book on LGBTQ Spaces

Academic publishing company Routledge on April 1, 2015, published a book edited by Petra Doan, professor in the Department of Urban and Regional Planning. Planning and LGBTQ Communities: The Need for Inclusive Queer Spaces brings together experienced planners, administrators, and researchers in the fields of planning and geography to reflect on the evolution of urban neighborhoods in which LGBTQ populations live, work, and play.

Jill Quadagno Honored at Retirement Reception

Jill Quadagno, the Mildred and Claude Pepper Eminent Scholar in Social Gerontology and professor of sociology, was honored April 8, 2015, by faculty, university administration, friends and colleagues at a reception to mark her retirement.

The event at the Pearl Tyner House included several speakers-- FSU President John Thrasher, COSSPP Dean David Rasmussen, former department chair Pat Martin, and former student Ben Kail--who spoke of Professor Quadagno's many achievements and contributions to the university.

College Faculty Honored with Teaching Awards

The annual University Teaching and Advising Awards will be presented on April 27, 2015. A number of faculty members from the college are being honored for their excellence:

Graduate Teaching Awards:
- Deana Rohlinger (Sociology)
- Miles Taylor (Sociology)
- Kaifeng Yang (Askew School of Public Administration and Policy)

Undergraduate Teaching Awards:
- Irene Padavic (Sociology)
- Kathryn Tillman (Sociology)

Political Science Department Honors Students

The Department of Political Science held its annual Honors Night, April 7, 2015, in the Beth Moor Lounge of the Longmire building. In addition to special thanks to Academic Coordinator Jerry Fisher for his work and service to the department, Professor Chris Reenock recognized the following students for outstanding achievement:

Pruet Award for Graduate Student Research – Minjung Kim

Pruet Award for Graduate Student Teaching – Casey Delahanty

Charles Billings Public Service Award - Aaron Tankel

Thomas R. Dye Scholarship Award - Ashleigh Singleton