Skip to main content
Skip to main content

Connect with the College

College News

DURP Faculty Member's Paper Wins Award

Jeff Brown, professor and chair of the Department of Urban and Regional Planning, has been selected to receive the Charley V. Wootan Award for Best Paper in Transportation Policy by the Transportation Research Board (TRB), the most respected transportation research body in the word. Brown will share the award with co-authors Eric Morris (Clemson) and Brian Taylor (UCLA). The paper was published in Transportation Research Record earlier this year. The authors will be recognized at the Chairman's Luncheon at the TRB Annual Meeting in January 2017.

Political Science Professor Speaks at UN

Assistant Professor of Political Science Inken von Borzyskowski will speak at the United Nations, August 31, 2016, in a special brownbag seminar sponsored by the UN Policy and Mediation Division of the Department of Political Affairs.

New Pub Series Brings Policy Expertise to Fun Public Gatherings

The college is launching a new series that puts the "public" in Public Policy and the "social" in Social Sciences!

[Listen to the story from FSU news]

Alums Named Notable Noles for 2016

The Florida State University Alumni Association has named its 2016 Notable Noles (formerly the Thirty Under 30), recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of FSU's young alumni.

Graduates of the College of Social Sciences and Public Policy make up 40% of the honorees this year - 6 out of 15.

Each recipient of the honor has shown exceptional achievement and significant contributions to his or her profession, community/society, or the university and demonstrate outstanding professional and personal development either through traditional channels or innovative approaches.

Planning Student Honored by Professional Organization

Kayla Costello (MS in Planning 2016) has been selected as the American Planning Association Florida's Student of the Year. She will be presented her award during the upcoming APA Florida Conference in Tampa in September.

Students selected for this honor must demonstrate "outstanding achievement during the nominee’s academic career in planning,” “support of planning,” and “effectiveness, results, and potential” for a successful career as a planning professional.

6 Grads Honored by Scholar Society

Florida State University welcomed 20 new members into its Garnet and Gold Scholar Society this summer, of which six are students with majors in the College of Social Sciences and Public Policy.

Established in 2010, the Garnet and Gold Scholar Society facilitates involvement and recognizes undergraduate students who excel within and beyond the classroom in at least three of five areas: international experience, internship, leadership, research and service.

Public Health Program Collaborates on Regional Conference

The Florida State University Master of Public Health (MPH) program is partnering with other university academic units, statewide agencies and nonprofits to present a regional health conference focused on primary care and stronger public health collaborations.

Grads Find Success at International Development Company

Efforts to connect our students to jobs in international affairs have had a wide impact across a range of companies and organizations. These efforts have been particularly fruitful at the international development company Chemonics, thanks in large part to the company’s Executive Vice President Eric Reading, himself an alum of the college.

The company recently marked its 41st anniversary, and a number of COSSPP alums were on hand to celebrate. Six graduates joined the Chemonics team in the spring and summer of 2016, bringing the total number of FSU grads at the company to 12.

Planning Lab Wins Another Project Award

The American Planning Association (APA) Florida has selected “Envisioning Florida’s Future: Transportation and Land Use in an Automated Vehicle World” for its Student Project Award to be presented at the organization’s conference in Tampa in September 2016. It is the fifth time a student planning project at Florida State University has won the award since the state APA began presenting them in 2009.