Inclusive Excellence

Geography DEI Statement

The Geography department is dedicated to providing a diverse, equitable, and inclusive environment to all students, faculty, and staff. We will build an inclusive atmosphere in which difference is welcomed and valued. The Geography department recognizes the value of each individual based on their unique characteristics including their ethnicity, race, gender expression, age, veteran status, sexual orientation, abilities, nationality, religion, and many more. Our mission is to focus on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI), recognizing that we all bring different backgrounds and perspectives to the table and that it takes conscious effort to strive towards equitable outcomes and inclusive communities. Each member of our department is committed to diversity, equity, and inclusion and will do this by:

  • Striving to recruit and retain diverse and inclusive faculty, staff, and students
  • Developing diversity awareness and sensitivity among faculty, staff, and students
  • Creating a welcoming and inclusive environment in our physical and virtual spaces

Diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) is not just a phrase; each word speaks to distinct values.

  • Diversity: The representation of different and unique identities, characteristics, experiences, and perspectives.
  • Equity: Giving everyone what they need to succeed by increasing access, resources, and opportunities for all; especially for those who are underrepresented and have been historically disadvantaged.
  • Inclusion: A welcoming culture in which differences are celebrated and everyone is valued, respected, and able to reach their full potential.

Inclusive Excellence Committee

The Geography department’s Inclusive Excellence Committee seeks to enhance the diversity of the department, foster an inclusive climate, and address systematic inequities and all forms of discrimination. The Committee is responsible for organizing relevant training, workshops, seminars, and discussions; conducting an annual graduate student climate survey; coordinating a mentoring program for pre-tenure faculty; supporting a Black, Indigenous, People of Color (BIPOC) affinity group; and organizing other activities and initiatives aimed at enhancing the diversity, equity, and inclusivity of the department.

Committee Members:

  • Rachael Cofield (Committee Co-Chair)
  • Stephanie Pau (Faculty Representative)
  • Sage Ponder (Faculty Representative)
  • Shaifali Prajapati (Graduate Student Representative)

Action statement on anti-Black racism