Skip to main content
Skip to main content

Department of Sociology

College of Social Sciences and Public Policy

Get More Than A Degree Applied Masters Degree Pursue PhD in Sociology

Connect with the College

Calendar

Important dates for 2017-18, plus Leon County School District (LCSD) key dates.

Date Event Start End Location Information
Wed, Sept 20, 2017 Faculy Senate 3:35pm 5pm Dodd Hall Auditorium Source
Fri, Sept 22, 2017 Sociology preliminary exams 8:15am 4:45pm FSU Testing Center Policy
Fri, Sept 22, 2017 Sociology faculty meeting (sorry for meeting on Rosh Hashanah) 10am 11:15am BEL 519 Agenda forthcoming.
Fri, Sept 29, 2017 LCSD Fall holiday --- --- --- LCSD website
Fri-Sat, Oct 6-7, 2017 CDPH 50th anniversary event --- --- --- CDPH website
Thur, Oct 12, 2017 Pepper Institute 40th anniversary event 4pm 6pm Broad Auditorium PIA website
Fri, Oct 13, 2017 LCSD teacher in-service day (no classes) --- --- --- LCSD website
Wed, Oct 18, 2017 Faculty Senate 3:35pm 5pm Dodd Hall Auditorium Source
Fri, Oct 20, 2017 Sociology faculty meeting 10am 11:15am BEL 519 Agenda to be distributed over email.
Thurs-Fri, Oct 26-27, 2017 Southern Demographic Assoc meeting --- --- Morgantown, WV Source
Fri, Nov 10, 2017 Veterans Day holiday (FSU, LCSD no classes) --- --- --- Source
Wed, Nov 15, 2017 Faculty Senate 3:35pm 5pm Dodd Hall Auditorium Source
Mon-Tues, Nov 20-21, 2017 LSCD off --- --- --- LCSD website
Fri, Nov 17, 2017 Natalia Sarkisian talk 1:30 2:30 Strozier Library Source
Wed-Fri, Nov 22-24, 2017 Thanksgiving holiday (FSU, LCSD no classes) --- --- --- Source
Wed, Dec 6, 2017 Faculty Senate 3:35pm 5pm Dodd Hall Auditorium Source
Fri, Dec 8, 2017 Sociology faculty meeting 10am 11:15am BEL 519 Agenda forthcoming.
Mon-Fri, Dec 11-15, 2017 Finals week --- --- --- Exam schedule
Fri, Dec 15, 2017 Commencement 7:30pm 10pm Civic Center Source
Mon, Dec 18, 2017 Start of LCSD winter break --- --- --- LCSD website
Fri, Dec 22, 2017 Start of FSU winter break --- --- --- Source
Wed, Jan 3, 2018 LCSD classes resume --- --- --- LCSD website
Tues, Jan 9, 2018 FSU spring semester begins --- --- --- Source
Mon, Jan 15, 2018 MLK, Jr. Holiday (FSU, LCSD no classes) --- --- --- Source
Fri, Jan 19, 2018 Sociology preliminary exams 8:15am 4:45pm FSU Testing Center Policy
Mon-Fri, March 12-16, 2018 FSU/LCSD spring break --- --- --- Source
Mon, March 19, 2018 LCSD teacher in-service day (no classes) --- --- --- LCSD website
Mon-Thurs, March 26-29, 2018 Aging in America Conference --- --- San Francisco Source
Wed-Sat, April 4-7, 2018 Southern Soc Society Conference --- --- New Orleans Source
Thurs-Sat, April 26-28, 2018 Population Assoc Conference --- --- San Francisco Source
Mon-Fri, May 1-5, 2018 Finals week --- --- --- Exam schedule
Fri-Sat, May 5-6, 2018 Spring commencementt --- --- Civic Center Source
Mon, May 28, 2018 Memorial day (no LCSD classes) --- --- --- LCSD website
Thurs, May 31, 2018 End of LCSD school year --- --- --- LCSD website
Sat-Mon, June 2-4, 2018 Intntl Soc Stress Conference --- --- Athens, Greece Source

Other Events